Contact BluesRoad - Back to the Main Page

Album List


Blues links


Wanted !


Junior Wells
Come On in this House

Version française

The 1996 release of "Come On In This House" was a relief for those Junior Wells fans that have been disappointed by most of his work over the last decade. Thanks to producer John Snyder, this album sees Wells teamed up with today's younger traditional Blues revivalists : slide guitarists Corey Harris, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Sonny Landreth, Bob Margolin, John Mooney and Derek Trucks accompany Junior Wells' high-pitched harp and deep and exceptionally clear vocals in various combinations. It is probably the best album of Junior Wells since the praised "Hoodoo Man Blues", Wells' first recording, released over thirty years earlier. Traditional Blues, recorded with clear and simple instrumentation, confident and tasteful harp licks, talented and sensitive guitar solos, is what this album is all about. Along with the slide guitar sidemen, the credits feature Herman Ernest III on drums, Bob Sunda on bass, pianist Jon Cleary on six songs, and guitarist Tab Benoit on "She Wants To Sell My Monkey".
This mainly acoustic album contains material by Sonny Boy Williamson, Little Walter, Arthur Crudup, Tampa Red and Junior Wells himself. The only contemporary song on the album is the surprising version of Tracy Chapman's "Give Me One Reason".


1.    What My Mama Told Me / That's All Right (Wells & Crudup) - 4:31
2.    Why Are People Like That ? (Charles) - 3:51
3.    Trust My Baby (Williamson) - 4:59
4.    Million Years Blues (Williamson) - 5:10
5.    Give Me One Reason (Chapman) - 5:00
6.    Ships on the Ocean (Wells) - 5:26
7.    She Wants to Sell My Monkey (Red) - 4:31
8.    So Glad You're Mine (Crudup) - 5:46
9.    Mystery Train (Parker/Philips) - 6:58
10.    I'm Gonna Move to Kansas City (McCollum/Nighthawk) - 3:39
11.    King Fish Blues (Red) - 5:17
12.    You Better Watch Yourself (Walter) - 3:45
13.    Come On in this House (Wells) - 5:51
14.    The Goat (Williamson) - 3:42

(Audio snippets in Windows Media format)

Version française